Members
  • Total Members: 311
  • Latest: Dogmor
Stats
  • Total Posts: 3859
  • Total Topics: 1447
  • Online Today: 36
  • Online Ever: 836
  • (January 21, 2020, 09:59:16 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 25
Total: 27
Bingbot
Baidu
Denim Jeans

D'Addario EXL110 Nickel Wound, Regular Light, 10-46 x 3 Pack

£14.09

The ideal combination of tone, flexibility and long life..

OnBuy
VigLink badge

Author Topic: What virtual guitar amp system do you run  (Read 261 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mick

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1016
  • Site Owner
    • guitarist-guild
    • View Profile
    • Guitarist Guild
What virtual guitar amp system do you run
« on: December 22, 2020, 07:04:36 PM »
What virtual guitar amp system do you run.  I've always had a soft spot for IK Multimedia's AmpliTube which I've used for a few years.  Just wondering what everyone else uses these days?


Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

Camera Craniums
Guitarist Guild

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: What virtual guitar amp system do you run
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2020, 01:35:10 PM »
Mick,

I have been using Amplitube 4, some of the time. when I'm running PreSonus Studio One or Reaper that's what I usually use, although Studio One has it's own amp modelling called Ampire and I do use that too.

In Cubase I usually use the built in VST Amp Rack, especially as being a bass player I find their emulations of bass amps to be better.

I'm having a look at Amplitube 5 now, review to follow. Unfortunately first impressions, which let's face it are very important with software, are not good. It's flaky, slow, the UI has areas of dark grey labelling on a black ground, and worst of all I cannot get some of my previous gear, including the Engl Powerball amp which was my favourite guitar model.*

As they patch it (one release has already gone live) things may improve. We shall see!


*LATER: I've found the Engl Powerball, purely by accident. In Amplitube 4 it is called 'Engl Powerball', which given that's what it is makes sense. In Amplitube 5 it is called 'Powerball', which doesn't make sense because if one searches for 'Engl', which is what I did, the search returns no results. I bet this sort of pointless renaming of gear is what is causing a lot of the reported problems.

« Last Edit: December 23, 2020, 02:23:13 PM by Hinfrance »

Offline Mick

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1016
  • Site Owner
    • guitarist-guild
    • View Profile
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: What virtual guitar amp system do you run
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2020, 10:42:55 AM »
My AmpliTube 5 experience has been similar, I'm hoping it will improve fairly quickly as all the bug reports come in.  Wonder if they beta test this stuff, if not I think they should tbh. 

At the moment, and although I'm using a laptop running on the lower end of their system requirements it's extremely laggy and slow to respond to any of the button inputs.  And although it's supposed to have a resizable layout it's pointless on a 1366 x 768 laptop screen as it's the locked to the wrong shape to fit the screen. 

Also the text on the menus and buttons is very difficult to see comfortably because it's grey text on a dark background which isn't ideal.   Maybe a light theme option should be available, or some customisation options would be really handy here. 

These are just a few things that niggle me, but I'm sure they will work through and get the bugs sorted out pretty quickly after the holidays. Fingers crossed. 

Merry Christmas everyone.  :tup:   

 
Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

Camera Craniums
Guitarist Guild

 

Guitarist Guild is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to guitaristguild.com