Username: Password:
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 2955
  • Total Topics: 935
  • Online Today: 37
  • Online Ever: 223
  • (April 06, 2015, 12:26:53 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 21
Total: 27
Google (3)
Baidu (3)

Author Topic: What Internet Provider do you use?  (Read 4599 times)

Offline Mick

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
  • Site Owner
    • guitarist-guild
    • View Profile
    • Guitarist Guild
What Internet Provider do you use?
« on: October 02, 2016, 02:29:48 PM »
Just out of interest, what internet provider do you use? Are they any good, or are you thinking of switching?

if you are switching what is the reason for the move. Price,  Reliability,  Crappy support,  Other.


Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

Camera Craniums

Guitarist Guild

Offline Skhilled

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2016, 07:05:51 PM »
I use A Small Orange hosting. I have used almost every hosting out there either for myself of have working on them helping others. This one is by far the best I've ever used! They give very fast support and have plans to suit almost every budget.

Offline Mick

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
  • Site Owner
    • guitarist-guild
    • View Profile
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2016, 08:19:49 PM »
I use A Small Orange hosting. I have used almost every hosting out there either for myself of have working on them helping others. This one is by far the best I've ever used! They give very fast support and have plans to suit almost every budget.

Steve, thanks I'll bookmark theme actually. because I might move hosting at some point and I must say they look pretty good.  :tup:

But, the original question was regarding ISP, the company that provide your broadband etc  Example I'm currently using EE as my provider.
Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

Camera Craniums

Guitarist Guild

Offline Skhilled

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2016, 08:46:25 PM »
LMAO! Sorry, Mick!  :-[

Offline Mick

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
  • Site Owner
    • guitarist-guild
    • View Profile
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2016, 07:01:46 AM »
Steve, no problem lol.. 

I'm currently in the middle of moving from EE  to BT.com  After many years with what started out as Freeserve, then Orange before they changed brand again to what is now EE

I found myself in a position where my cables to the house and my phone calls are maintained  by BT but my Broadband by EE.  I've had an ongoing problem with broadband dropping out randomly, and getting anyone to fix it is a nightmare.  One saying it's the cables and the other saying it's the ISP.  So I decided to put the whole lot together in one package.

I might be jumping out of the frying pan into the fire with this, we'll see.  :doh:
Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

Camera Craniums

Guitarist Guild

Offline Skhilled

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2016, 01:52:59 PM »
Well, I hope it works out for you. It's not much better over here in the States. They're all money hungry...that's the problem.

Offline Mick

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
  • Site Owner
    • guitarist-guild
    • View Profile
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2016, 09:36:12 PM »
They sure are Steve, it's certainly not cheap.  The connection I have at the moment is driving me nuts, it took me best pat of half an hour to post a reply in the "Multi Effects units, or separate Pedals? " thread just now.  Keeps dropping out.
Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

Camera Craniums

Guitarist Guild

Offline Skhilled

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2016, 12:25:54 PM »
Les has very good speed. Ask him about his...

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2016, 07:38:28 AM »
Over here in La Belle we are stuck with Orange, or France Telecom as it used to be known - the monopoly provider. There are others in the 'zones debloques' (there should be accents there, but the site won't let me type them) which are basically the big cities and cabled areas. The competitors are allowed to piggy back the Orange system out here in the country, but only at choked speeds. So we have up to 20mbps (this morning running at around 4mbps) with Orange or 512kbps with a competitor - not much of a choice.

Every now and then there is a problem with the nearest junction box, and every time they come to find the fault they charge us ahead of the visit, and then refund us when it turns out that yet again it is not the cabling on our property but their kit . .

Offline Mick

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
  • Site Owner
    • guitarist-guild
    • View Profile
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2016, 07:57:18 AM »
Over here in La Belle we are stuck with Orange, or France Telecom as it used to be known - the monopoly provider. There are others in the 'zones debloques' (there should be accents there, but the site won't let me type them) which are basically the big cities and cabled areas. The competitors are allowed to piggy back the Orange system out here in the country, but only at choked speeds. So we have up to 20mbps (this morning running at around 4mbps) with Orange or 512kbps with a competitor - not much of a choice.

Every now and then there is a problem with the nearest junction box, and every time they come to find the fault they charge us ahead of the visit, and then refund us when it turns out that yet again it is not the cabling on our property but their kit . .

Interesting H.  So Orange is still Orange in France?  Over here it was merged with EE, now I believe taken over by BT, although still running as EE.  And BT and EE are still run as separate brands / or companies as far as I'm aware.
Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

Camera Craniums

Guitarist Guild

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
Re: What Internet Provider do you use?
« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2016, 08:35:32 AM »
Yep, still Orange here. Virgin has just either been taken over or rebranded as SFR (not sure which). My mobile contract is with SFR following the change. It's a good deal, 3 hours of calls, unlimited SMS and MMS and 500mb of data, the latter I only use rarely - all for 5 a month. My 'phone is my own, of course, you wouldn't get a 'phone as well for that price. I usually use Whatsapp, Skype or FB Messenger for international calls via the home internet connection. With friends and relatives in the US and SA as well as the UK that's handy.

 

adorama.com